Home > The Kingdom of Four Rivers > Map of The Kingdom of Four Rivers

Map of The Kingdom of Four Rivers

ubik-006.jpg

Here is the map my wife Georgie drew for The Kingdom of Four Rivers. I am a little ambivalent about having a map for my novel, as it probably makes KoFR seem more like a fantasy novel, which it certainly isn’t. However, I liked the map Georgie drew so I decided to include it. It makes the story of the novel seem a little more real somehow.

Anyway, I have almost finished line-by-line revision on my manuscript now. The ms. is currently down to around 87,000 words, down from 91,000 in the second draft and 97,000 in the first draft. I have new scenes to write, however, which will hopefully bring the final word count up to around 90,000 words. Interestingly, I have found that I haven’t needed to cut as much out of this manuscript as I did with previous novel attempts. I used to routinely write manuscripts of perhaps 75,000 words, which would be cut down to 55,000 in the second draft. This time, I am finding that there is less need for deletions. I am hoping this means that the book is good…

The entry form for the 2008 TAG Hungerford Award has been released now. I’m hoping to finish working on KoFR and enter it by the end of April. Fingers crossed!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

