Home > Book Reviews > I’m giving up on Last Drinks

I’m giving up on Last Drinks

Well, this tends to happen quite a bit. I start reading a novel, finding it fairly interesting at first, but then my interest tapers off dramatically. It’s interesting that I should struggle with McGahan’s Last Drinks, because I found the subject matter (corruption in 1980s Queensland and its aftermath) quite compelling. How is it that Praise and 1988 could be so gripping and this novel so easy to put down? I haven’t got an answer for this. Last Drinks seems like a transitional novel, by a writer learning how to write about something other than himself. It’s clunky and slow in places. And I’m pulling the pin.

Onto The White Earth.

  1. June 30, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I agree that Last Drinks is the least exciting of Andrew McGahan’s novels, although I didn’t get to the point of giving up on it. But The White Earth is stacks better. Just nothing like Praise or 1988 though. It’s kind of like McGahan is two different writers, so you have to read it with new eyes. Enjoy!

  2. guysalvidge
    June 30, 2008 at 11:49 am

    I started reading The White Earth the other day and it’s very smooth so far. Hopefully I will be able to get through it in quick time. I’ve also got McGahan’s Underground here to read too, but that one looks kinda dodgy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

