Home > Book Reviews > Reading List – 1st Aug

Reading List – 1st Aug

After a month or so without reading very much at all, I’m back into the swing of things, having recently read Mazza’s The Albanian, Hemingway’s Fiesta and McCaffrey’s In Ecstasy. I’ve got a couple of books here in front of me that I mean to read, and a couple more that I intend to acquire in the next few weeks.

A Farewell to Arms – Hemingway – After Fiesta I am neither encouraged nor discouraged to pursue the Hemingway canon. This book will probably decide which way I go.

The Travel Writer – Simone Lazaroo – I’ve been meaning to read this for a few weeks now…

Beijing Coma – Ma Jian – I am REALLY looking forward to this book by my favourite Chinese writer

Ubik: The Screenplay – Philip K. Dick – fans of the great man will be eager to get their hands on this.

The Last Sky – Alice Nelson – set for release on the 7th of August, this is the 2006 TAG Hungerford Award winner.

Revolutionary Road – Richard Yates – this has been recommended by my sister. The late Kurt Vonnegut has some very complimentary things to say about it.

  1. Elle
    August 5, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Hi Guy

    Notice you have The Last Sky on your reading list. The book is being launched this Thursday 7 August at 6pm at New Edition bookshop in Fremantle… I believe the author will be giving a reading from the book and signing copies. Should be good.

    Elle

  2. guysalvidge
    August 5, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Elle

    I’d love to be there but as I live in Northam I doubt I will be able to make it. Thanks for the heads up anyhow…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

