Home > Book Reviews > Two incomplete reviews and a new reading list – 26/8/08

Two incomplete reviews and a new reading list – 26/8/08

I’ve been very, very naughty.

I started reading two novels, Simone Lazaroo’s The Travel Writer and Richard Yates’ Revolutionary Road, but I’ve given up on both of them after 90-100 pages. This is not to say that I disliked them, particularly in the case of the Lazaroo novel. Simone Lazaroo is such a good writer that her prose is exhilarating. She must be the best stylist of the eight Hungerford award winners I’ve read. Unfortunately for me, I wasn’t especially interested in her tale of women’s lives in Malacca and London during the twentieth century. This is my loss. I will come back to this, and her second novel The Australian Fiancee, in due course.

Expect to see my review of Alice Nelson’s TAG Hungerford Award winning The Last Sky in the next day or so. I finished reading it on the plane from Melbourne last night and was duly impressed. It also won’t be long before I’ll be able to review Philip K Dick’s Ubik: The Screenplay either, which has just arrived in the post from Amazon. And then there will reviews of Ha Jin’s The Bridegroom and other stories and David Mitchell’s number9dream.

Good times.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

