Home > Book Reviews, My Writing, Yellowcake Springs > More books to read – 2/10/09

More books to read – 2/10/09

At the end of 2008 I was pleased to be able to say that I had read around 50 books in the year at the rate of one per week. I’m not entirely sure why, but I’ve read far fewer books in 2009, and with the year entering its final quarter, I thought it was time to read a couple more. So off I went to the two local secondhand bookstores here in Northam. I’ve got three to read now, but knowing me, I’ll be doing well to end up reading two of them.

Regeneration by Pat Barker – this is about Sigfreid Sassoon in World War One. I’ve had this open for weeks now, but I haven’t gotten around to finishing it yet. Quite compelling reading, but easy to put down, as I discovered.

Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini – I’ve definitely heard of this author, but only vaguely. I’ve barely looked at this, but it’s about Afghanistan and I like reading about different cultures. Sold.

Vignettes from the Late Ming translated by Yang Ye – I’m a sucker for anything Chinese, so I was sold on this straight away. It’s a collection of hsaio-p’in, a kind of prose vignette style from the Ming dynasty (17th century). Sold.

On another note, I am working on my novel Yellowcake Springs again. I’ve managed 5000 words so far in these school holidays, and I aim to write another 7000 words in the coming days, taking my ms. to 65,000 words in total. The entire ms. will be around 90,000 in first draft form.

  1. October 8, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Hi Guy!

    Just thought I would pop in to your blog to say hi – Carly K sent me a link to a synopsis of your book – sounds good! 🙂

    Kite Runner is a great book, reeally enjoyed it. I have been doing a bit of writing these hols too, def not as much as you though.

    • guysalvidge
      October 9, 2009 at 8:10 am

      I am enjoying Kite Runner – half way through it, but the curse of putting things down half way through has struck again. I will finish this one though. I thought the section set in Afghanistan was very interesting. I didn’t know anything about the Pashtuns and Hazaras so all of that was new to me. The section set in the US is still good, but not quite as interesting for me. Cheers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

