Home > My Writing, Other > Katharine Susannah Prichard Speculative Fiction Award 2010

Katharine Susannah Prichard Speculative Fiction Award 2010

I just got home from this year’s KSP Speculative Fiction Awards, which is held annually and has become one of Australia’s premier competitions for speculative fiction. I was lucky enough to receive a Commended certificate for my story “The Remembery”, which came as something of a surprise as it was the first story I’d written in four or five years. Can you believe I’ve been working exclusively on novels for all of that time? I also had the chance to catch up with my old uni  buddy Daniel Simpson, whose story “The Red Marble” also received a Commended certificate. The winner of the Open (i.e. adult) section was Denis Bastion, a Victorian writer whose story “Wolves, Sheep and I” was read to us by KSP Chairperson Paula Jones. And what a story it was. Definitely a worthy winner. This year’s judge was Peter Mcallister. Attendees to this year’s awards were also treated to a reading of a short story from WA author Juliet Marillier, which was particularly enjoyable.

You can read the Judge’s Report here on the KSP website.

And here’s a list of winners in all three categories (Open, Young Writers and Under 13s):

  1. August 16, 2010 at 12:12 am

    It was good to catch up Guy. Great day for writers to come together!

  2. September 20, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    Hi Guy,
    As a former member of KSP I must say it is really nice to to see you here. I am European and moved back to Sweden in 2010, so I cannot participate in anything at KSP. But I was published in 2 anthologies, and I am especially proud of my pieces “Prey”, “Music” and “The Prize” in Hopscotch and Cider by the KSP Thursday Night Group 2008.
    Hope to see more of your writing online in the future. ou will find some of mine at my ERnglish blog Kaleidoscope at http://swedishmaggie.wordpress.com
    Have a good time with your pen and paper!
    Maggie

    • guysalvidge
      September 21, 2011 at 7:45 am

      Thanks Maggie – KSP is a great place for writers to come together, as you know. I’ve recently started attending the monthly Speculative Fiction group, and I’m even considering accepting a position on the KSP Management Committee, so I’ll be even more involved in KSP in the future.

      Cheers, and I’ll check out your blog a little later.

      Guy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

