Home > Book Reviews > What I Read in 2010

What I Read in 2010

So 2010 has come and gone already. Over the past 3 years, I’ve been in the habit of recording the names of all the books I read through to the end, with the aim of getting through at least 50 books a year. I read 59 in 2008, 47 in 2009 and now 55 in 2010, which pretty much means I average a book a week. I love reading, but I find that a lot of my leisure time gets eaten up by PC gaming (recently Starcraft 2, Civilisation 5, Killing Floor). Another thing is that I start a lot of books but don’t finish them. I’d estimate that I started another 20-30 books in 2010. I’ve got a ‘Books Left to Read in 2010’ list that has 37 titles on it – all are books I acquired in 2009/10.

The bulk of my reading in 2010 was dominated by two names: Philip K Dick and Harry Crews. I re-read and reviewed around a dozen PKD books earlier this year, and some of these reviews are slated to appear in SF Commentary 82 in the not-too-distant future. I finished reading Crews’ entire opus, which the exception of This Thing Don’t Lead to Heaven, which I’m still not paying well over $100 for. I read and enjoyed several Australian small press books, mainly published by Twelfth Planet Press. And I finally got into Irvine Welsh this year.

My favourite book of 2010 was Sprawl from Twelfth Planet Press. Full list below.

Steven Amsterdam – Things We Didn’t See Coming

Barker, Pat – The Eye in the Door

Bedford, K.A. – Time Machines Repaired While U Wait

Burroughs, William – Ghost of Chance

Burgess, Anthony – A Clockwork Orange

Caldicott, Helen – Nuclear Power is Not the Answer

Cook, Kenneth – Wake in Fright

Crews, Harry – Celebration

– The Gospel Singer

– Where Does One Go…?

– Karate is a Thing of the Spirit

– All We Need of Hell

– The Knockout Artist

– The Hawk is Dying

– Naked in Garden Hills

– An American Family

Dick, Philip K – Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said

– The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch

– Doctor Bloodmoney

– Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

– The Divine Invasion

– The Man in the High Castle

– A Maze of Death

– Time Out of Joint

– A Scanner Darkly

– In Milton Lumky Territory

– Confessions of a Crap Artist

Dick, Anne – Search for Philip K Dick

Disch, Tom – The Word of God

Dyer T/Chrulew M – Edward Teach/Angaelian Apocalypse

Golding, William – Lord of the Flies

Haines, Paul – Slice of Life

Hinton, S.E. – The Outsiders

Hendricks, Vicki – Voluntary Madness

Hiney, Tom – Raymond Chandler: A Biography

Kalfus, Ken – The Commissariat of Enlightenment

– Thirst

King, Daniel – Memento Mori

Koja, Kathe – The Blue Mirror

Krasnostein, Andrea – Sprawl

– 2012

Kurkov, Andrey – A Matter of Death and Life

McCarthy, Cormac – No Country for Old Men

McHugh, Maureen – Nekropolis

Meier, Andrew – Black Earth: Russia After the Fall

O’Connor, Flannery – Wise Blood

Sturgeon/Moore – “Baby is Three”/”Vintage Season”

Swindells, Robert – Stone Cold

Vandermeer, Jeff – Why Should I Cut Your Throat?

White, James – All Judgment Fled

Welsh, Irvine – The Acid House

– Trainspotting

– Marabou Stork Nightmares

Whorton, James – Frankland

Zbarsky, Ilya – Lenin’s Embalmers

Categories: Book Reviews Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

