Home > My Writing, Yellowcake Springs > Yellowcake Springs reviews?

Yellowcake Springs reviews?

Well, there aren’t any yet. That’s where you come in. The Kindle edition of Yellowcake Springs is out, but hardly anyone knows about it yet and it hasn’t been reviewed. So I’ll like to give a free e-copy to people interested in reviewing the novel on Amazon for me. I would also put little snippets of your review on my blog and official website. So you get to read my novel for free, and I get someone to review my book. Preferably you already write reviews of some sort on your blog or similar, but I won’t hold it against you if you don’t. I hope you like gritty, dystopian speculative fiction though.  How does that sound? If it sounds like a deal, write something in the comments and I’ll email the book to you in .pdf format.

  1. August 25, 2011 at 10:49 am

    I’d be happy to read and review your book! I don’t have a kindle, is there a general e-book version in PDF format or the like?

    • guysalvidge
      August 25, 2011 at 11:48 am

      Yes, I can send you a pdf . I think I have your email address here.

      Thanks for offering to read Yellowcake Springs 🙂

      I’m looking to give away maybe 5-10 digital copies in total, so don’t be shy, you others out there…

  2. guysalvidge
    August 25, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Just had a look at your blog – you’re a Philip K Dick fan as well? Awesome. You are definitely in the target audience group for this book, so I’m really keen to find out how fans of the great man feel about Yellowcake Springs.

  3. August 30, 2011 at 1:55 am

    Patience already! LOL!

    A friend of mine from many many years ago wrote an unusual book, and I am working on that.

    http://www.amazon.com/End-Age-Book-One-Ascendant/dp/1449593453/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1314636522&sr=1-1

    It is set in North Carolina 900 years after God has made everything right and put his Kingdom here on earth. Because my friend is a Pre-millennialist , the various “saved” people have returned and are also around. The main character, Paul, is at his college commencement and C.S. Lewis is giving the address: Paul has no clue who he is, and tunes him out when he starts speaking in platitudes. My friend has very deep religious convictions, but I am getting the sense that this is going to be an unusual read.

  4. guysalvidge
    August 30, 2011 at 7:59 am

    I had a look and it does sound interesting. This is the age of apocalyptic fiction, it seems.

  5. August 31, 2011 at 10:39 am

    Yes, but it is odd. Emmanuel has shown up, and he is king of the world. But oddly enough, although everyone goes along with his being king, not everyone buys that he is “The Lord”. Breaking the rules is punished, but there are certain people who choose to skirt around them.

    There is a very strong tension between the rule of a totalitarian theocracy that runs everything well, and the ideals of a society of choice and free will.

    The language is a bit stilted, but I am guessing that is intentional to give it a flavor of “otherness”. The main character is a bit of a young Doctor Spock type.

    I am about 1/2-way through.

  6. guysalvidge
    September 14, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    Thanks to Russell of the Reflexiones Finales blog for this great review:

    http://reflexionesfinales.blogspot.com/2011/09/yellowcake-springs-review.html

    Thanks again, Russell!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

