Home > My Writing, Yellowcake Springs > Yellowcake Springs is on the 2012 Norma K Hemming Award shortlist!

Yellowcake Springs is on the 2012 Norma K Hemming Award shortlist!


Some very exciting news: the shortlist for the Norma K Hemming Award is out and Yellowcake Springs is one of the nine novels chosen. The Award is for a work of speculative fiction published in Australia that addresses themes of race, class, gender, sexuality and/or disability, so I guess it’s the literary spec-fic award to the Aurealis’ popular award. It’s an awesome shortlist and I’m stoked on a number of levels to be on it. For a start, I’m on the same page with the late, great Sara Douglass – probably Australia’s most popular and successful fantasy author of the last 15 years. There’s there’s the fact that I’m the only male on the shortlist. Does this mean anything? I guess I don’t know, but I’m pleased that my work is considered as transcending gender boundaries (and there’s a bit of gender bending in Yellowcake Springs). And lastly, look at the publishers: HarperCollins dominates this list with 5/9 titles, and the other three aside from my own are from established small presses Ticonderoga, Twelfth Planet and Scribe. That leaves little old IP punching well above its weight, and little old me chuffed to rate a mention.

Here’s the full shortlist:

Black Glass novel by Meg Mundell published by Scribe Publications (Brunswick VIC)

Bluegrass Symphony collection by Lisa L Hannett published by Ticonderoga Publications (Perth, WA)

The Devil’s Diadem novel by Sara Douglass (1957 – 2011) published by HarperCollins

Eona novel by Alison Goodman published by HarperCollins

Hindsight novel by A A Bell published by HarperCollins

Nightsiders novel by Sue Isle published by Twelfth Planet Press (Perth, WA)

Road to the Soul novel by Kim Falconer published by HarperCollins

The Shattered City novel by Tansy Rayner Roberts published by HarperCollins

Yellowcake Springs novel by Guy Salvidge published by Interactive Publications

The winner of the 2012 Norma K Hemming Award will be announced at Continuum 8,  this year’s National SF Convention, to be held in Melbourne on the weekend of June 8-11.

  1. May 3, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Congrats Guy! But I’d put the Ditmar Award in the populist category – the Aurealis is judged by a panel.

    V. exciting news! Looking forward to reading it too.

  2. russell1200
    May 3, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Very good!

  3. May 3, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    Congratulations, Guy. Fingers crossed for you.

  4. guysalvidge
    May 3, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Point taken, Anthony – I’d forgotten about the Ditmars (and there’s the Tin Ducks in WA as well). Thanks for the kind words, all.

  5. May 5, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Hey, Guy. Your post made it onto Google Alerts this week. Well-done! We’ll have to hire you to do our SEOs 😉

    • guysalvidge
      May 5, 2012 at 3:46 pm

      Thanks, David. This blog is more than four years old now so it has built a little momentum 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: