Home > My Writing, Yellowcake Summer > The Next Big Thing?

The Next Big Thing?

I’ve been asked by several writers (specifically Martin Livings, Lee Battersby and Andrez Bergen) to participate in the ‘Next Big Thing’ Q&A. It’s my turn to post my responses, and I hereby decree that the writers who will follow me next week are Katie Stewart, Anthony Panegyres and Eliza-Jane Henry-Jones.

So here are my responses…

1) What is the working title of your next book?

Yellowcake Summer. This is the sequel to Yellowcake Springs. Don’t worry, there won’t be a Yellowcake Autumn or Winter. Duologies are so uncool that I’ve decided to produce one just to be un-hip.
2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

Well, I wrote Yellowcake Springs and really it was supposed to be done there, but the characters in that book stubbornly refused to leave me alone, hence the need to detail their further adventures.
3) What genre does your book fall under?

It’s dystopian science fiction or speculative fiction. Think 1984 or Martian Time-Slip.
4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Pass.
5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Yellowcake Summer is a dark, dystopian tale of a nightmare vision of Western Australia’s future.
6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Well, neither. The first book is published by Interactive Publications and hopefully the second will be too. I don’t have an agent though.
7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

It’s only half done and I aim to have it completed in the upcoming summer break of Dec ’12/Jan /’13. I can write a novel in two summers normally, which involves about twelve weeks of actual writing.
8)8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Philip K. Dick’s Martian Time-Slip is probably the major point of comparison, I think.
9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I’ve always had a morbid fascination with nuclear war, so there’s that. A novel called Brother in the Land by Robert Swindells really inspired me to write this kind of thing, but there are other books of similar quality too.
10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

It may not be the only novel set in the Wheatbelt of Western Australia, but I bet that it (and its prequel) are the only post-apocalyptic novels set in this area!

  1. December 5, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    “upcoming summer break of Dec ’12/Jan /’13.

    ? I know you are down under and all that, but is Jan/Feb the summer break? I am not being silly here, I am trying to ficure out what the time schedule is.

    “only [post-apocalyptic] novel set in the Wheatbelt of Western Australia”

    Hmmm, I guess if you get really really specific, but I don’t recall that Honey Brown’s Red Queen was real specific as to where it was set, and Steven Amsterdam’s protagonist in Things We Didn’t See Coming seems to wander over a fair amount of PA Australia. Australia, on a per capita basis, has more than its fair share of PA stories. If you compared it to New Jersey (the most densley populated large State in the U.S.) it comes out way ahead. The only time I think anyone goes through NJ is if they ar trying to escape New York City.

  2. guysalvidge
    December 6, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Russell, yes, our summer break is December – February, being in the Southern hemisphere. I’ve read Amsterdam’s book and I think he’s actually an American himself, an ex-pat maybe. I haven’t read Honey Brown yet but I’d be surprised if he stuff was set here – probably it’s set over the in the Eastern States where she lives. I do agree about your general point on Australia PA fiction – it seems to be one thing we do a lot of 🙂

  3. December 6, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Amsterdam is an ex pat, or at least was. You are probably correct with regard to Honey Brown.

    Another possibility is Tess Williams 1996 Map of Power that has Perth as one of the remote surviving areas after an apocalypse. I don’t know a lot about it though.

  4. February 28, 2013 at 4:56 am

    Update – Ben Elton’s Stark is said to be set in Western Australia. I have no idea if it is in the Wheatbelt. But I am assuming that the Western Australia part is more important than the Wheatbelt part.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

